Home » Uncategorized » Twenty-Seven Years Ago Today

Twenty-Seven Years Ago Today

birthdayI know that most of you think of July 21st as the day that Herostratus set fire to the Temple of Artemis in Ephesus. Or maybe you think of it as the day Belgium won independence from the Netherlands. The Battle of Bull Run was fought on July 21st. For the TV enthusiast, July 21st is the first day in 1931 where TV was broadcast seven days a week in New York City. NATO was founded in 1949 on this day. In Sri Lanka, Sirimavo Bandaranaike became the first woman to be an elected head of state on July 21st. In 2007, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was released.

I know that’s what all of you think of when I mention July, 21st, but that’s not what matters to me. On July 21, 1987 I was no doubt enjoying the summer. I had just turned four and had recently moved to East Tennessee. Maybe I picked blackberries that day. I was probably looking out at the “cow field” in our back yard.

Far across the country, a little girl was born. She was adorable, the second daughter of the family.

Of course, I had no idea that this birth mattered. I hadn’t heard of the city and probably didn’t even know of the state she was born in. It would be almost 13 years before that little girl made any difference to me at all.

We met shortly before both of our birthdays in late June of 2001. We met in a circus tent on a sweltering Florida day. She was a very thin little girl and I was an oaf. Maybe a friendly oaf, but I am under no illusions that my stunning looks and boyish charm had anything to do with our friendship.

A little over four years later, I married that little girl who was no longer a little girl.

This is her eighth birthday as my wife. Certainly this birthday is better for me than it is for her. If you consider how we have aged, I am getting my first gray hairs (a sparse few) and my earliest wrinkles. She, on the other hand, still has smooth skin, sweet eyes, and a…ahem…foxy body!

All of you can can remember Harry Potter today, but I have something much better. I have my delightful, beautiful, wise, and thoughtful friend. I love you Sam. I’m so happy to have you!

Oh, and Happy Birthday!

-Chip

The cake above is courtesy of Will Clayton and is used with permission

Leave a Reply

